smart search


 Interesting Facts About The Chapter

  • The Washington, DC Chapter (the Chapter) was started as an off-shoot of the Washington, DC Social Club which was comprised of area alumni who came together to raise money for the University and for club purposes.
  • The Chapter was chartered as an official chapter within the Virginia State University Alumni Association in 1955.

  • Thomas Washington served as the Chapter's first President and was instructmental in leading the Chapter during its early years. His term in office lasted 13 years.

  • While the Chapter is known as the Washington, DC Chapter by name, geographically, the Chapter serves not only Washington, DC but also the Maryland counties of Prince Georges' and Montgomery.

  • In 1997, the Chapter was awarded non-profit 501(c)(3) status by the Internal Revenue Service.

  • In 1998, the Chapter accepted the challenge from VSU President Eddie N. Moore, Jr. to provide a direct investment into the future of the University by establishing the Washington, DC Chapter/VSUAA Endowment Scholarship Fund, through the VSU Foundation, to help ensure the higher education dreams of VSU students from the Washington, DC metropolitan area.

  • In 2005, the Chapter formally established the Washington, DC Chapter Provost Scholarship Fund,as a scholarship operating account with the VSU Foundation, to assist in attracting the best and brightest students to the University.
  • In 2006, the Chapter gifted the University its largest single gift in Chapter history. This amount was $12,500 and was given in honor of the University's 125th Founding. All prior years' gifts to the University were in amounts ranging from $5,000 to $10,000.

  • In 2006, the Chapter conceptualized the Trojan Pride License Plate initiative as a way to offer area alumni and friends the opportunity to show their support for the University and display their Trojan Pride at the same time. The initiative was officially endorsed by the University's Development Office in 2008.

  • In 2008, the Chapter pledged a chapter gift of $25,000 over the course of five years in support of Virginia State University's 20 million dollar Capital Campaign.

  • In 2009, the VSU Development Office publicly recognized the Chapter with a commerative plaque during Alumni Weekend in recognition for our contributions of over $50,000 toward our Chapter Endowment. The plaque which represents our contributions is displayed proudly on the "Wall of Donors" on campus in Foster Hall.
  • In 2012, David Meyers stepped down as Chapter President. His term in office lasted eight years (2004 -2012). The second longest in chapter history. 
  • Among the Chapter's presidents, three have served in leadership roles at the National level within the Virginia State University Alumni Association. J. Otis Harris, Jr. served as National Alumni President (1999-2002) and Keith Yancey served as National Vice-President (2005-2008). Franklin Johnson, Jr. served as National Vice-President (2012-2014) and is now the current National President.  At the age of 32, Franklin is the youngest National President in VSU Alumni Association History. 

  • In 2013, the Chapter decided to rename its book scholarships after three dedicated and loyal members.